Bulldogs get District 7-A honors

Clay County Bulldogs get District 7-A honors

ALL DISTRICT HONORS-After leading their team to the playoffs for the first time in six years, nine Clay County High School football players were recently honored in Cookeville at the District 7-A Awards Banquet and a pair of them garnered one of the rare superlative awards. Seniors Matt Fraga and Ivan Murphy were named among the conference’s elite. Fraga was honored as the special teams player of the year, while Murphy was named the defensive lineman of the year. Clay County also had four players on the first team and three on the second team. Pictured with their awards are (1st row, left to right) Tony Spivey (2nd Team), Taylor Strong (1st Team), Jordan Collins (1st Team), Fraga, Murphy, (2nd row, left to right) Matt Maxfield (2nd Team), Josh Endicott (2nd Team), Mitchell Short (1st Team), and Wyatt Mabry (1st Team). (photo courtesy Carla Endicott)