Clay County Leadership group visits State Capitol

NASHVILLE-A Clay Leadership group consisting of Tiffany Brown of Cumberland River Hospital, Brooke Burchette of Celina K-8, Susan Deaton of Cumberland River Hospital, Melissia Foster of Celina Health & Rehab, Three Star co-chair Diana Donaldson, and chamber director Ray Norris recently met here at the Capitol in the Senate Chamber with three of the Tennessee constitutional officers–comptroller Justin Wilson, treasurer David H. Lillard, Jr., and secretary of state Tre Hargett  for two hours in an exclusive interactive discussion regarding the duties of each official and the current top issues of the state and how those issues may impact Clay County.

The group later met with Representative Kelly Keisling, Senator Mae Beavers’ chief of staff Patti Saliba, and Grant Monroe of Lt. Governor Ron Ramsey’s office to review and discuss the recently ended legislative session, as well as areas of further concern and future legislation.

The final item on the agenda was a guided tour of the state capitol with emphasis on the historical elements of the structure and many Tennessee historical forefathers and the various roles they played.

HOW GOVERNMENT WORKS-State Capital staff member gives the Leadership Clay ’10-’11 group a presentation on legislative background and procedures in the Senate chamber. (pictured left to right: staff member, Ray Norris, Susan Deaton, Brooke Burchette, Melissa Foster, and Tiffany Brown)