HOF event hot ticket this month

CELINA-Tickets to enjoy a meal and honor the newest Clay County Sports Hall of Fame (CCSHOF) class are now available and are sure to be a hot commodity since the event date of Saturday, January 25 is fast approaching.

With former Clay County resident and District Attorney General Randy York serving as the the Master of Ceremonies and 16 new members on hand for induction, attendees will be treated to what has been previously described as “a night of nights,” topped off with a music video with photos of the CCSHOF’s newest inductees.

“We encourage the public to attend and help honor these local sports legends, but they must order their tickets in advance,” a hall official said.  “The deadline to do so is this Saturday (January 18), so we hope everybody interested in coming to this once-a-year event will call this week.”

The official said tickets can be reserved by calling Jeana Edwards at (931) 397-6184 or (931) 243-3070, explained prices are $7 for children (4-12) and $12 for adults, and said reserved tickets can be picked up and paid for at the registration table prior to the banquet.

The event will begin with a fellowship period from 12-1 p.m. and the official banquet will get underway at 1 p.m. with a buffet meal being served. Induction ceremonies will begin immediately after the meal and the honorees will also be introduced at halftime of the girls’ game with Macon County that night–which tips off at 6 p.m.

The newest class includes a cross-section of older and younger members, and includes not only players, but coaches, administrators and support people. The inaugural class included 24 people, the second class (2011) included 20 inductees and the third year, (2012) 13 people were voted into the Hall.

This year’s inductees will include:

• Held over from 2012–Jock Proffitt, Rob Holston, and Billy Melton, who were unable to attend last year’s event;

• Heritage category–Burnice Scott and Arnold Gray Pace;

• Player category–Teia Ashlock Arms, Gary Eads, Wendell Cherry, Nicole Davis, Linda Cherry Brown Koch, Jason Edward Hamilton, Randall “Red Monk” Arms, Derrick Anderson, Darryl Reecer, Dewayne Reecer, Jerry Strong, Freada J. Bailey, and Anita Bartlett Spann; and

• Contributor category–Donald E. Napier and Carmon C. Brown.